Aldi’s and Zucchini Chip Bread

28 Aug

I find that a lot of things in Chambana are different than life in Minneapolis. For example, grocery store prices are more expensive here, and if you need to go to a natural/organic store (like whole foods in mpls), forget about it! I will not pay $7 for a loaf of bread, even if it’s gluten free. So we’ve been ‘grocery store shopping’ and we found our new favorite- Aldi’s! I was a little skeptical at first, but we spent $54 for a whole week’s worth of groceries. I will admit I am a little excited to go back. All of you anonymous readers, try Aldi’s!

Last weekend we went to the farmer’s market which is 4 blocks from our house- no more 3 for $5 deal like the Minneapolis market, but a lot of little family owned farmers, and all prices are determined by weight. We bought local peaches and zucchini which I used in zucchini chip bread.

Every time I cook, I have the best intention of following the recipe, but I usually substitute for ingredients I have on hand. I am also the kind of baker who adds an extra egg or milk if the recipe looks like it needs it, but for the most part I measure out ingredients. I made a new goal, to exactly follow a recipe. Oops, that didn’t happen when I made the zucchini chip bread.

Here is the real recipe, with my modifications:
Zucchini Chip Bread (Taste of Home)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg (didn’t have, used ground cloves)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (didn’t want to buy, used 1 frozen banana)
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 tbsp grated orange peel (omitted altogether, forgot to buy an orange)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup shredded zucchini
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Combine dry and wet ingredients in separate bowls. Mix together and add zucchini and chocolate chips. Pour into 1 greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 55-65 minutes. Verdict? It was super great, a little banana-y but not enough zucchini.

And we had a little flood, apparently you shouldn’t shower and run the laundry machine at the same time.

-B

Post a comment

