Gardener’s Pie

2 Sep

I have never been a big fan of shepherd’s pie- it’s the ground beef, but I really like potatoes as I should since I am 12.5% irish. But I found this wonderful recipe on pinterest for Gardener’s Pie. I was determined to follow the recipe, but I made some minor changes, one day I will follow a recipe!

Gardener’s Pie

For the Mashed Potatoes:

-1 1/2 POUNDS RUSSET OR YUKON GOLD POTATOES, PEELED AND CUT IN 1/2-INCH DICE
-1/4 CUP HALF-AND-HALF (I used milk)
-4 TABLESPOONS (1/2 STICK) UNSALTED BUTTER
-3/4 TEASPOON SALT
-1/4 TEASPOON FRESHLY GROUND BLACK PEPPER
-1 LARGE EGG YOLK (I didn’t have any eggs, but potatoes could have used more milk)

For the Filling:

-2 TABLESPOONS CANOLA OIL
-1 CUP CHOPPED ONION
-1/2 CUP CHOPPED GREEN BELL PEPPER
-2 CARROTS, FINELY CHOPPED
-2 GARLIC CLOVES, MINCED
-1 TEASPOON SALT
-1/2 TEASPOON FRESHLY GROUND BLACK PEPPER
-2 TABLESPOONS FLOUR (I used gluten free all purpose by Cooqi)
-2 TEASPOONS TOMATO PASTE
-1 CUP VEGETABLE BROTH (We had chicken broth on hand)
-2 TEASPOONS CHOPPED FRESH ROSEMARY (Too much rosemary after all done and said)
-1 TEASPOON CHOPPED FRESH THYME
-1 CAN RED KIDNEY BEANS, RINSED AND DRAINED (More beans next time!)
-1/2 CUP FRESH OR FROZEN CORN KERNELS
-1/2 CUP FRESH OR FROZEN SHELLED GREEN PEAS

For the rest of the directions, click on “Gardener’s Pie” above.
Verdict? The blog I got this from was raving about how good it was, so I had high expectations. Right out of the oven I thought it was good, not great, but it was also 95 degrees outside, but Ryan liked it. I am glad I gave it a second (and third and fourth) chance because it was surprisingly really good reheated. I would definitely make it again, when it’s colder out.

But this recipe was the most complex thing I’ve ever made. And it made a huge mess, but worth it.

I need to get a new lanyard for my keys. I’m still sporting my U of M one, but I am getting mean looks. At least we bought Illini t-shirts this weekend, we’re converting one piece of clothing at a time. But the big question is- who do we root for when Illinois and Minnesota play against each other?

Post a comment

