Homemade Graham Crackers

6 Sep

I have been looking for a homemade gluten free graham cracker recipe for a while. I can’t even remember the last time I had graham crackers. Now that I’ve been eating a gluten free diet for 6 years, I notice that the things I miss the most are the snack foods I used to eat when I use little, like graham crackers, goldfish, nilla wafers.. sometimes companies will make gluten free knock-offs, but it isn’t the same. The recipe I found is so good that I actually had to go get some grahams before I could write this post. Gluten free or not, you can make these homemade grahams and it will save you some money and you won’t be able to believe you made something that tastes like the original!

Homemade graham crackers

2 ¼ cups gluten free flour (I used Cooqi)
½ cup packed brown sugar
1¾ teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon xanthan gum
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
7 tablespoons butter or margarine, cut into pieces
3 tablespoons cold water
3 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

  • Combine the dry ingredients and mix until well combined
  • Cut the cold butter into small pieces. Using your fingertips, work butter into dry ingredients
  • Stir in 3 tablespoons cold water, honey and vanilla. If dough is too dry, add a little more cold water, a teaspoon at a time
  • Gather dough into a soft ball. Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 to 30 minutes
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper
  • Flatten and roll the dough onto the parchment paper to the thickness you desire (may need to use some flour to keep dough from sticking to rolling pin)
  • Use a pizza cutter to cut your dough into squares and use fork to poke holes in dough
  • Sprinkle generously with cinnamon sugar
  • Bake at 325 degrees for, well the blog said 12-15 minutes, but my crackers would have been more like soft cookies if I took them out after 15, so I baked for about 30-40 minutes, but I kept a close eye on them to make sure I didn’t burn them

Verdict? So good!!

I also made a new lanyard for my keys so I won’t get any more mean looks. I forgot the sewing machine in Minnesota.. so a project that should have been 5 minutes took about 2 hours.

To come in a future post- pieces from my pottery class!

-B

Post a comment

