The cheese I don’t like

9 Sep

Earlier this week I made Taste of Home’s Mostaccioli Bake. A lot of the time when I ask Ryan for dinner suggestions he says lasagna, which I’m not a big fan of, and although this recipe is similar to lasagna, I decided to make it because I love my man. As I was mixing the ingredients (eggs, cottage cheese, parm cheese, spinach), I was really concerned that this recipe was going to be gross and that I would have to make PB&J for dinner. I really can’t stand cottage cheese. After measuring out 1 cup of cottage cheese and mixing it with the other ingredients, I was not going to dig my measuring cup back into the cottage cheese container even though the recipe called for 2 cups.

I was making a gluten free pan and gluten-containing pan, and normally when I do that I make mine first, then Ryan’s to eliminate any cross-contamination. But I didn’t really read the directions before making mine and instead of layering pasta, then the cheese mixture, and then more pasta, I mixed the cheese mixture into my pasta, and then realized I was suppose to layer them. With not following the directions and the cottage cheese, I thought it was hopeless. Anyways, I made Ryan’s and put them in the oven and by the time they were done, I had 5 minutes to eat and run out the door for pottery class. My first thought was I can’t taste the cottage cheese so it’s not too bad. But after pottery I came home and ate some more, which is a good indication that I liked it.

Overall verdict? Ryan said that the mostaccioli was better than the calzones (!!) and I actually really liked it too. We’ll definitely be having this again. But next time I’ll make a bigger pan for Ryan because he ate the entire pan just for dinner.

Mostaccioli Bake (The original recipe is linked, below is my modified version)

8 oz mostaccioli
1 egg
1 cup cottage cheese
2 large handfuls of fresh spinach, washed and chopped
1/3 to 2/3 shredded parmesan cheese
1/3 cup of mozzarella
Salt, Pepper, Italian seasoning
1 jar meatless spaghetti sauce

1. Cook pasta. Meanwhile mix egg, cottage cheese, spinach, other cheeses, and seasonings in bowl. Save some cheese to be used for topping.
2. Drain pasta, mix in desired amount of spaghetti sauce
3. In greased pan (I used 2 8X8s), first layer pasta, then cheese mixture, than pasta. Top with spaghetti sauce and leftover cheese.
4. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Bake for 5 minutes at the end without cover.

Normally I would include a picture, but I really thought this meal was going to be hopeless, and I had to run out the door. Just imagine goodness and then go make this.

Last night I was going to make chicken nachos, but I came home to find Ryan finishing the bag of tortilla chips that I needed for the recipe. So he offered to make me dinner. We had a box of Zatarain’s and for dessert we had pears marinated in light syrup, aka fruit cups. No need to show you a picture of that one!

-B

Post a comment

