Great, good, and awful recipes

17 Sep

I’ve been cooking a lot of new recipes lately, which is really fun when they taste good, but if they’re gross I usually assume it’s because I didn’t follow the recipe, however their is a recipe I’ll post later this week that was the most disgusting thing I’ve ever tasted and I followed it to a tee.

If I make a new recipe and we like it, I add it it our running list of dinner suggestions that we keep on the fridge. I have 3 recipes to share; a crowd-pleaser, one that needs tweaking, and one that was awful.

#1 Chicken Nachos

Tortilla chips
Beans (I used black, not refried like the recipe called for)
Cooked and shredded chicken
Cheese
Additional toppings: tomato, avocado, etc.

Lightly grease a cake pan. Cover bottom with chips and add beans, I left the beans whole instead of mashing them and then having to spread some of each chip. Next add chicken and cheese. Repeat with a second layer of chips, beans, chicken, cheese. Top with extras and bake at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Verdict? Yum! Not super great reheated because chips get soggy, but super easy to make.

The original recipe didn’t say how to cook the chicken, but I decided to season 2 chicken breasts with cumin and lemon and bake them in a tinfoil packet at 350 for 20-30 minutes.

#2 Noodles and Co Pesto Cavatappi

What the original recipe calls for…
3/4 box noodles
tomatoes
mushrooms
1/3 cup white wine
1/4 cup cream
7 oz. pesto
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Parm cheese

What I used..
regular and gluten free noodles
1 tomato (but next time I will use at least 2)
mushrooms (I’ve never bought mushrooms before. They were in the fridge for 3 days and when I pulled them out they were kind of slimy and smelled horrible. Ryan googled ‘how to know when mushrooms are bad’ and apparently mushrooms aren’t suppose to smell bad and feel slimy. They went in the trash.)
I didn’t want to buy white wine or cream. So I skipped the wine altogether and made substitute heavy cream with butter and milk
Store bought pesto

I had expectations for this recipe because I love Noodle’s pesto cavatappi. The version I made was pretty much noodles with pesto sauce, tomatoes, and extra milk and butter. Still good, but next time I will buy all of the ingredients and make it correctly. Also, I think I need to make homemade pesto, the store bought one tasted too salty.

#3 Caramel Apples

The last time I made caramel apples (2 years ago) the caramel didn’t stick, so I knew that it was important to make sure the apples were dry before dipping. I wanted to make caramel apple slices, which I thought wouldn’t be a problem, I still made sure they were as dry as I could get them. I followed the directions on the back of the Kraft caramel squares bag to melt the caramel, I dipped my apples and they looked good enough.

I put them in the fridge to help set the caramel and I pulled them out 20 minutes later and…

What happened?!! It was so awful, they couldn’t be salvaged. I think their were several problems: next time I shouldn’t slice them, they were too moist, the caramel probably got too hot when I melted it, and the fridge.. I don’t think it helped. I have some more apples and caramel, but if any of you have a recipe to make caramel apples, please let me know because I need help!

-B

Post a comment

