Orange Balsamic Chicken

19 Sep

It’s hard to find gluten free orange chicken. So I thought I could make my own, and last year I found a recipe on pinterest that seemed okay. It called for orange juice concentrate and other normal ingredients, but it was so awful. Way too orangey and bitter and gross. I tried to like it, again, I hate wasting food, so I really tried to eat it. I even fed it to Ryan to try and get rid of it. Yuck- I would advise all of my reader’s to not use orange juice concentrate when wanting to produce an orange flavor- use orange marmalade instead! I was a little skeptical about buying a whole jar of orange marmalade, but Rachel Ray loves using it, so I’ll have to find some more recipes that call for it.

I checked out Rachel Ray’s Look+Cook book from the library and she had a recipe for Orange Balsamic Glazed Chicken. Verdict? So good, never using oj concentrate again!!

Here is my slightly modified version:
2 tbsp EVOO
2-4 chicken breasts (I cut mine into thinner pieces)
Salt and Pepper
Dash of rosemary
1/3 cup orange marmalade
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup chicken stock

Heat EVOO in skillet over medium-high heat. Season the chicken liberally with salt and pepper. Add the chicken to the pan when oil ripples and brown for 5 minutes on one side. Turn the chicken and season with rosemary, cook 5 more minutes. Stir together the marmalade, vinegar, and stock and pour over the chicken in the pan. Let the sauce thicken for 2-3 minutes. Serve chicken with a little extra sauce, umm!


Maybe I will tackle those caramel apples tomorrow.

But, very exciting news, today we found out that my sister, Katie, is having a baby girl!! The whole Foley family is thrilled and I can’t wait, she’s due February 14th!

Post a comment

