Mom’s Spanish Rice

28 Sep

This week I made my mom’s famous spanish rice recipe. It didn’t turn out quite the same, but that’s because moms have this secret touch. But it was fun to make something that reminded me of home.

Spanish Rice
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 tbsp butter
1/2 pound beef
1 tsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
1 can, 15 oz tomato sauce
1 cup minute rice (regular rice will not work because it takes too long to cook)
Vegetables (optional, we put in yellow peppers)

Saute onions in butter in large skillet until lightly browned. Add beef and brown well. Add vegetables, brown sugar, dry mustard, chili powder, and tomato sauce. Cover and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Stir in rice, reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 5-7 minutes. Eat with potato chips! Verdict? I can’t wait to make it again!

My mom usually serves this with peas, but I usually don’t eat the peas, so it was kind of strange that I decided to make peas with mine..but I wanted it to be just like home!

Another non pinterest recipe, BBQ chicken with roasted potatoes and peppers.
Pretty simple- chopped peppers and potatoes, seasoned with olive oil, garlic powder, and italian seasoning. I used 2 large chicken breasts and cut them into smaller pieces. Season the chicken liberally with salt and pepper and smother in Sweet Baby Rays! I baked at 350 degrees, but I had a problem..the chicken was done but the potatoes were still hard. So next time I should put the potatoes in first and then add the chicken and veggies after they cook for a bit.

I think Ryan and I have been away long enough and I’ve gotten used to our new city, where I’ve really started to miss Minnesota. I even miss being on campus. How come no one talks about  the withdrawal you go through after you graduate? Of course we don’t miss homework, but we still wish we could be carefree and always with our friends. Anyone else feel this?

-B

2 Responses to “Mom’s Spanish Rice”

  1. Sarah Forde September 28, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Super excited to try the spanish rice recipe, Beth! It sounds so great! Miss you, a lot!

  2. Baby Z October 15, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Love all the recipes. Totes feel the missing campus, carefree friend-filled life. I hear ya Foz-Baum ;)

Post a comment

