Barbacoa Pot Roast?

1 Oct

I wanted to make slow cooker beef barbacoa, because theKitchn blog makes it look so good and fresh. But, I can’t handle too much spice so I knew that I would definitely have to leave out the chipotle peppers and adobo sauce. And I didn’t want to make 5 pounds of it, so I found this recipe, and mashed the two together.

2.5-3 pounds chuck roast, trim off most of the fat
1/2 cup chopped onion
3 chopped garlic cloves
2-3 tbsp chili powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
pepper and salt
3 beef bouillon cubes and 3 cups of water
handful of cilantro
Juice of 2 limes
Small amount of cider vinegar

Cut the chuck roast into smaller pieces (4-5) so it fits nicely into the crock pot. Add all of the ingredients to the pot, making sure there is enough liquid to completely cover the meat, if not add water or more beef stock. Cook on high for 3 hours and low for 1 hour. Once the meat is tender, remove and shred. Discard most of the broth.

Verdict? Ryan really liked it, but I thought it tasted like pot roast instead of barbacoa so it was kind of weird eating it on a tortilla with fresh veggies. The next day I ate the meat with potatoes, which I enjoyed much more. So I got Ryan to eat pot roast (kind of) and he liked it! I would make this again, but if I wanted to serve it on tortillas I would use chicken and make it more mexican. However, this recipe is perfect for a unique and flavorful pot roast.

On Saturday morning we made Martha Stewart’s pancakes and cooked up some bacon. This is Ryan’s ‘artsy’ picture. But the pancakes were great!

 

I also started experimenting with making my own chex mix.

Chex Mix #1
5 cups chex cereal
Nuts and Pretzels
1/4 cup brown sugar
1.5 tbsp butter
Tiny bit of baking soda
Vanilla

Melt the brown sugar and butter in the microwave for 2 minutes. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in a tiny bit of baking soda and vanilla, stir until completely mixed. Pour over cereal mixture and mix in bowl. Spread on cookie sheet to cool.

Verdict? A little too sweet. Next time I would use less brown sugar and butter. Maybe more chex experiments to come!

Post a comment

