Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

8 Jan

Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread - The First Year Blog #BananaBread

Who doesn’t love bananas and chocolate chips? A lot of people have their preferred banana bread recipe, but I think they all taste great! Here’s my recipe, it’s very easy and takes about 7 minutes to prepare. 

3 ripe bananas, smashed
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I like to chop mine into smaller pieces)
1/3 cup melted butter
1/2 cup sugar (3/4 cup if you don’t use chocolate chips)
1 1/2 cups of flour
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
dash of salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease the loaf pan. Smash the bananas in a bowl and mix in the melted butter. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Add the baking soda and salt, stir together. Then add the flour, mix well, and finally mix in the chocolate chips! Pour batter into the loaf pan and bake for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. This recipe makes one delicious loaf.

Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread - The First Year Blog #BananaBread

Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread - The First Year Blog #BananaBread

That looks so good right? And it’s gluten free! Usually everything I bake is gluten free, since I have a gluten sensitivity. I love the multi-purpose gluten free flour I use made by Cooqi.

Image

They also have Cake & Pastry Flour, Pancake Flour, and Pizza & Pita Flour. I emptied my bag while making this recipe, so I ordered 5 more bags.. I guess I have plans to do some baking! You can check out Cooqi Gluten Free here.

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

30 Responses to “Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread”

  1. manapproveddiet January 8, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    I love the banana and chocolate combination! Plus I’ve started looking for gluten free recipes for my neighbor, so this is perfect! Thank you for sharing this on Man Approved Monday!

  2. Linda January 8, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

    This sounds yummy. I just baked banana nut bread yesterday. But the addition of the chocolate (YUM!) sounds great! Thanks for sharing! Linda @www.paperseedlings.com

  3. Jenna January 8, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    Wow! Chocolate and Bananas!? My husband would love this! Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog earlier!

    Jenna @ rainonatinroof.com

  4. dianaramblesdotcom January 9, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    YUMMY!

    • Diana Rambles January 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Thanks for linking up!

  5. Nicole January 9, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Banana bread is never complete without the chocolate chips!

  6. agenerose06 January 9, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Wow, this looks amazing. Banana anc chocolate is one of my favorite combinations. I can’t wait to try this.

    I host a link party each Thursday and would love for you to share this.

    Thanks for the great post!

    -Angie
    http://www.easylivingmom.com

  7. AP (@LvdMoreThnCrrts) January 9, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Oh man, this looks fantastic! I’m definitely going to try this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing and for linking up! As soon as Pinterest gets its act together, you’ll be pinned! ;)

  8. Carla January 9, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Um…really?! I’m sold on the 7 minutes!! And, I have three bananas in the fridge begging to fix this recipe! I’m pinning too!

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog January 9, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Thanks Carla! I am following you on Bloglovin and pinterest! I am sure I will find some crafts on your site that I will want to do with my nanny kids!

  9. kfiegel January 10, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    Mmm that looks delish. I’ve never added chocolate chips to banana bread – I might have to add them next time I make some.

  10. kfiegel January 10, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

    Mmm that looks delish. I might have to try adding chocolate chips next time I make banana bread.

  11. katiesnestingspot January 10, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    Hi Beth, thanks for sharing your banana bread. I love banana bread to begin with but the addition of chocolate can only make some great, even better! I’m following on Pinterest now but am not on Blog Lovin’. I just got an iphone and noticed it’s got an free app version for it. Do you like it? I’m tempted to add it to my phone and if I do, I’ll add ya!

  12. myhousetohome January 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Yum! Chocolate chip banana bread is a family favorite in this house. We’ll have to give your simple recipe a try. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Marlys @Thisand That January 12, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    This looks so good. Do you have to add anything else when you use gluten free flour? and is there a gluten free baking soda? I know that there is a gluten free baking powder. I keep thinking I should go bake on a wheat free diet. Thanks for sharing on foodie friends friday and remember to come back and vote tomorrow.

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog January 12, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Hi Marlys! Sometimes I add a very tiny portion of xanthan gum (a baking agent to help make gluten free baked goods have a better texture, cuts out crumbly-ness). I use Arm and Hammer Baking Soda and have never had any problems!

  14. debbiedoos January 12, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Welcome to blogging. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe, I have not had the exact one, but close. So glad you found my blog. Enjoy.

  15. Ashley @ Kitchen Meets Girl January 12, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Banana bread is my absolute favorite sweet bread. And with chocolate chips? Even better. :-) Thanks so much for linking up at What’s in Your Kitchen Wednesday.

  16. Christine January 14, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    Beth, I want that banane bread!! YUM!

    Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality!

  17. Jamie @ Love Bakes Good Cakes January 14, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    Great recipe! Thank you for sharing at All My Bloggy Friends last week. I look forward to seeing what you share this week :)

  18. Betsy @ Romance on a Dime January 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    I’m on a search to find the best banana bread recipe. Thanks for sharing this at Romance on a dime. I’ll have to try it!

  19. danandmariel January 14, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    This looks delicious! I would love for you to share this or any of your great ideas at the link party going on now (and every Saturday through Tuesday) at ‘Or so she says …’ Hope to see you there! http://www.oneshetwoshe.com

  20. Alexis AKA MOM January 28, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Ohhh Goodness that is so yummy looking!!

  21. Gina Kelly February 20, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    Fantastic recipe. So moist and yummy! Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Man Approved Monday Recipe Party « The Man Approved Diet - January 14, 2013

    […] linked up last week for my first party. The first featured recipe goes to The First Year and her Easy Banana Chocolate Chip Bread. I especially love that you can sub in gluten free flour without the need to make a lot of other […]

  2. Day 37: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread | Project Pinterest 365 - February 7, 2013

    […] Here’s the link: https://thefirstyearblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/easy-banana-chocolate-chip-bread/ […]

Post a comment

