Chocolate Chex Marshmallow Bars

26 Jan



chex bars 5_brand

Marshmallows and cereal were made to go together! We all love this classic treat, but this one is rich and gooey…don’t try and type and eat it! And this one is a little different. Most people like using the cereal Rice Krispies to make these bars, but I discovered that Chex cereals or anything with that same shape (like Crispix) makes this treat so much more gooey and marshmallow-y! I think it’s because of the little holes in the squares, the marshmallow just seeps into it!

Also, I love Chex cereals because they have a gluten free line. And sometimes when I see those Chex commercials on TV featuring the family who has a gluten free daughter and/or son, and the mother is thanking Chex for making something so yummy and gluten free, it makes me get emotional and want to send Chex a thank you letter. My husband and I joke about how sometimes I just want to be normal (aka eat gluten filled foods/eat what everyone else is eating).. so thanks Chex for making me feel normal again! Wheww, now that we all know about my love for Chex, here is the simple recipe.

Ingredients

3 tablespoons butter
1 package (about 10 oz) marshmallows (mini or regular)
1 box of Chex cereal (I used chocolate, but choose your favorite!)

In a large pan melt the butter over low heat. Add the marshmallows and stir until completely metled. Turn the heat off and add half of the box of cereal, mix until coated. Then add the rest of the cereal and mix until coated.
Pour mixture into a greased 9 X 13 inch pan. Using your hands (and some cooking spray or wax paper) press the cereal into the pan to create an even thickness. Next step is to eat them because who really can wait for them to cool!

chex bars 1

chex bars 4

I recently created a facebook page for my blog, it’s a great way to stay up to date with my latest posts!

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

Ps. I am thinking about doing a “get to know the blogger behind this blog” survey, so what would you like to know about me?

44 Responses to “Chocolate Chex Marshmallow Bars”

  1. alotonyourplate January 26, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    Those are fabulous! Such an easy recipe, i love it!

  2. Carole January 26, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Beth these look so yummy. I would like to know if you take your own pictures of the food…I’m assuming you do because of the consistent white plate. I think your photography is fabulous… you have a wonderful knack for it…

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog January 26, 2013 at 11:16 am #

      Hi Carole! I shoot all of my own pictures. And I love shooting my food on a white place because it makes it pop! :-)

  3. Brenda January 26, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    These look scrumptious!! Thanks for sharing the recipe ;) Pinning!

    Have a lovely weekend!
    ~Brenda @ChattingOverChocolate.blogspot.com

  4. Cindy January 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Ok, I usually eat dinner so I can get to dessert and this looks YUMMY! I wish there was a way to eat sweets and bypass the tummy . Visiting again from Masterpiece Monday:)
    Hope your weekend is wonderful,
    Cindy

  5. Kendra January 26, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    These look so yummy! What a great idea to use Chex instead of Rice Krispies. Thank you for sharing on Whisk Away Wednesday!

  6. Ruthie January 26, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    Oh goodness… this looks amazing! Thanks so much for sharing at Super Saturday Show & Tell party today! Please come again next week http://www.whatscookingwithruthie.com

  7. monogramsandmakeovers January 27, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    These look amazing! They’re low carb right? Haha!

  8. Lanaya January 27, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    These look ridiculous! Yum .. thanks for the dinner and dessert posts right in a row! LOL

    Thank you for linking your favorite post of this week to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured :)

    xoxo
    Lanaya
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  9. Leslie January 27, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    I love that chex has a gluten free line, I did not know that! These look delicious.

    Thank you for linking up to Raising Imperfection!
    Make sure to check back on Friday to see if you were featured.
    Leslie

  10. Walking On Sunshine Recipes January 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    Look so good! Thank you for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday. Please come back next week for another great party!

  11. Diana Rambles January 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    These look really good!

  12. Meg, Happy Kids, Inc (@happykidsinc) January 27, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    Thanks for the link party. Your newest follower via Bloglovin’.

    http://www.happykidsinc.blogspot.com

  13. Jennifer January 28, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    These look so easy and delicious! I posted today about 3 pinterest recipe successes from this past week!

  14. Christi January 28, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    These look amazing- can’t wait to try them, my girls will love em! I am your newest follower!
    Christi

  15. Chandra@The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen January 28, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    soo Cute! Thanks for sharing at Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s!

  16. Alexis AKA MOM January 28, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Oh wow that looks amazing!! Thanks for the recipe!

  17. Laura January 29, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Pretty sure I gained three pounds just reading this post, but it was so worth it! I’ll take any excuse to add rainbow sprinkles to a snack. Pinning these to remind myself to make them this weekend.

    Found you via the Him & Her “Tell Me Tuesday” linky party, thanks for sharing!

  18. Monsterscircus January 29, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Just an amazing and loveable recipe, and so daring combo fir your cake! Love it, thank you for sharing!

  19. Brooke January 30, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    My three-year-old saw these and wanted to try them. We’ll do it today! Thanks so much for sharing! It’s been pinned! Have a great day!

  20. cynthial1956 January 30, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    I am so glad you brought this recipe by the In and Out of the Kitchen link party. I am usually not a fan of cereal cookies. I don’t care much for the crunch. This recipe, however, looks like something I could sink my teeth into! Thanks so much for sharing it!

  21. lauren @ daisy cottage designs January 30, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Ummm… yummy! I am regretting my decision to stay away from desserts until March… :( I would love it if you’d link up at Off the Hook!

  22. creativejewishmom/sara January 31, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    Sounds amazing, thanks for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday!

  23. Katherine January 31, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    saw you on the hop, these looks great!

  24. Aimee @ ShugarySweets January 31, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    These sound delicious Beth! thanks for stopping by today :)

  25. ChiWei February 1, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    Oooh, those look great! It’s only 10 in the morning, but I’m hungry already! Thanks for sharing at my link party!

  26. Charlene@A Pinch of Joy February 2, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    These look yummy and party pretty! Thanks so much for linking on Busy Monday!

  27. Susie @Bowdabra February 2, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Thanks so much for stopping by and linking up your awesome project! Visit us again next week and link up more awesome stuff!

    Have a great week!
    Susie@bowdabra
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/02/02/saturday-showcase-craft-project-linky-18/

  28. Kathryn Griffin @TheDedicatedHouse February 2, 2013 at 10:19 pm #

    Beth, these look so good and cute to boot! Thank you for sharing this at the Make it Pretty Monday at The Dedicated House. Hope to see you again at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

  29. Shelley February 4, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing at Party In Polka Dots! These look so yummy! I am may have already told you that on Facebook but anyway… I am coming by to tell you that you are being featured!

    Shelley

    http://www.piggyinpolkadots.com

  30. Angie - easylivingmom.com February 5, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    These look delicious!! They are so cute also. Thanks for sharing at my link party :)

    -Angie
    http://www.easylivingmom.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s #9 | The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen - February 3, 2013

    […] The First Year Blog’s Chocolate Chex Mix Marshmallow Bars […]

  2. Man Approved Monday « The Man Approved Diet - February 4, 2013

    […] Luck for my, The First Year Blog provided the perfect treat to send him off with!  These Chocolate Chex Marshmallow Bars sound delicious and I think I could even cut them out in heart shapes!  Go ahead and grab the […]

Post a comment

