Washi Tape – customize bathroom accessories

29 Jan


Customize Your Bathroom Accessories with Washi Tape - The First Year Blog

Washi tape is so fun to decorate with! But maybe you aren’t sure what washi tape is. Well washi tape is decorative Japanese tape. It’s kind of like masking tape, but more delicate and semi transparent because it is made from natural fibers. And the best part is that it comes in a wide variety of patterns and colors, and you can put it on anything!

How am I using washi tape? To customize my bathroom accessories! I had bought a glass lotion pump jar from Target a while back, and it’s great.. but I wanted to do something different with it to make it stand out and fit in with our decor and color scheme.

washi bathroom before    washi 4

So I added the adorable turquoise and white polka dot print to it. It’s stand out more and I love it!

See this gorgeous bathroom?
Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 1.39.47 PM
(No source provided)

Maybe you want to customize your bathroom accessories by bringing in that warm yellow tone, but you can’t find accessories you like and in the right color. Well buy some plain ones and customize them with washi tape. I like this chevron pattern to help bring out the yellow! (see more about chevron here!)

Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 2.01.38 PM
Find this one on Etsy.

For fun, here are other ways to use washi tape.

Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 1.39.19 PM
Spruce up plastic dollar store cups from Craft and Creativity!

Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 1.41.54 PM
Or your bicycle!  Inspired by the Dutch company Hema School Tape It.

I bet I got you all excited to use washi tape and now you want to know where to buy it. Well, I tried to find it at Hobby Lobby, but the employees definitely didn’t know what I was talking about. I didn’t try Michaels, but perhaps they have it. Otherwise you can buy it online. Cute Tape is a large retailer or you can find it on Etsy. I scored my tape from Pick Your Plum, which offers a different discounted awesome product each day.

washi 3

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

22 Responses to “Washi Tape – customize bathroom accessories”

  1. Christina @ Floridays Mom January 29, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Cute idea to add a splash of color for cheap.

  2. Chandra@The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen January 29, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Love Washi tape! If that is your bathroom I am on my over! = ) Thanks for linking up at Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s

  3. Dawn aka Spatulas On Parade January 29, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Great idea. Now to find washi tape.
    Thank you for linking up with us at “In and Out of the Kitchen Link Up Party” with Feeding Big.
    Dawn
    http://spatulasonparade.blogspot.com

  4. Kathy Moody January 29, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

    So cute and it looks fabulous! What a great idea! I love Washi tape. Love your great blog, too! Your newest follower. :)

  5. Diana Rambles January 29, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Super cute! I need to get more tape!

  6. Selene Galindo January 30, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    What a cool way to customize! Thanks for the tip!
    restorationbeauty.com

  7. Wishy Washi Tape January 30, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Neat idea and since it’s water resistant it should stay on for a while!

  8. Marilyn January 30, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

    Isn’t washi tape awesome?

  9. Katherine January 31, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    how fun!! I love washi tape

  10. Tiffany @ BabyList January 31, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Cute! Love Washi Tape!

  11. marissa January 31, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    I’ve got to admit I’ve never used Washi Tape before. I’d love you to link this up if you want :)

  12. Jenna February 1, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    Too cute! I hate to admit it, but I have not purchased any washi tape yet! I must put it on my to do list! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and following! Following you now as well!

    Jenna @ http://rainonatinroof.com

  13. Jodi Stuber February 1, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    What an awesome idea!! gotta love the crazy tape :)
    stopping in from easy living!

  14. jocieopc February 3, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    What a cute way to add some color and personalization! Thanks so much for sharing at the Humble Brag!

  15. Christine February 4, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    LOVE IT Beth!!!!! I would not have thought of that!

    Thanks for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality! Can’t wait to see what you link up tomorrow evening!

  16. Angie - easylivingmom.com February 5, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    This is so fun! What a great idea. I’ll have to pick up some Washi Tape. Thanks for sharing at my link party :)

  17. DearCreatives (@DearCreatives) February 15, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    I love your idea for washi tape. I need to get some & play around with it. I have to check out some of your recipes too. Come linkup sometime with me @ DearCreatives.com

Post a comment

