Stitched in Love

5 Feb

love1

Here is something simple I made to celebrate Valentine’s Day. I didn’t throw glitter, pink and hearts everywhere.. I don’t think Ryan would like that. I don’t think I would either, ha.  But I got out my favorite medium (cardboard!!) and spent $0 to make this.

I drew out the letters by hand (our printer has no ink) and then cut them out with an exacto knife. Then I spruced them up with a little white paint and sewed them onto this frame that I covered in fabric with pink thread. Cardboard makes for easy stitching because it already has holes in it.

love2

I added this extra XOXO detailing with the thread, because who doesn’t love hugs and kisses?

love3

It’s stitched in love.

Switching directions, Lauren from Mercy Ink posted a thought provoking video titled “What Jesus would say about your blog stats” which talked about how bloggers can become obsessed with all the numbers and statistics associated with their blog (uh..guilty) and what we can do to turn our focus back to Jesus. It got me thinking.. if I am really blogging for myself why do I care so much about the numbers? And I should be thinking about Jesus more than I think about blogging related things. So to help get my heart in the right place, I decided that I am not going to check any blogging statistics from now until next Tuesday, the 12th. This is definitely going to be a challenge for me, but every time I want to check,  I’ll focus on Jesus.

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” – Matthew 6:33

beth signature 1

17 Responses to “Stitched in Love”

  1. memoriesbythemile February 5, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Sew Cute!
    Wanda Ann @ http://www.memoriesbythemile.com/
    My link party is going on now, hope you’ll come by.

  2. Peggy Hale February 6, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    This turned out so cute! Very creative. That makes me think also. Am I putting blogging before my Lord? Thanks so much for the reminder. You should come by and link up at Transformed Tuesday. We’d love to have you. http://pjhdesignsoneofakind.blogspot.com/2013/02/transformed-tuesday-24-features.html

  3. anastasiamw February 6, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    I love that you kept the project looking clean, minus sparkles (although I admittedly do love sparkles!). It’s so pretty! This is a great post, particularly about remembering to not put blogging above faith and blogging for its sake rather than the numbers.

  4. Priya February 6, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    This looks so cute. I do some stitching too – mostly cross stitch (easiest of them all – I’m so lazy :) ). But what caught my attention was that last paragraph. I’m so guilty of this. I spend so much time in front of my laptop that I hardly get time to read the Bible…It is high time that I shift my focus to where it is due. May be I should make a time allotment each day to my blog so that I can do more fruitful things the rest of the day!

  5. Selene Galindo February 6, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    I really liked your piece because it’s so simple yet cute! I love that it doesn’t scream pink or red!

  6. Michele February 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Super cute. I love your stripes, x’s and O’s, and of course thrifty genius:) Pinned onto two of my boards:) Stop by http://www.sewsweetvintage.com/search/label/fabulous%20flourless%20peanut%20butter%20cookie
    or
    http://www.sewsweetvintage.com/2013/02/be-fearless-arianna-huffington.html

  7. Marilyn February 8, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    The xoxo makes this project! GREAT! Thanks for sharing at the Loving Valentine’s Day Party!

    Marilyn

  8. Diana Rambles February 9, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    Very cute Beth!!

  9. Carrie @ My Favorite Finds February 11, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    This is so cute! Thanks for sharing at Pinworthy Projects.

  10. Betsy @ Romance on a Dime February 11, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    This is a great idea!! So cute. Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!!

  11. Lindsay @Artsy-Fartsy Mama February 13, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    So cute!! You did a fabulous job! :)

  12. Susie February 16, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Hi Beth!
    Thank you for submitting this fun project to the Crafty Showcase! What a sweet idea! xoxo susie @bowdabra

    Ps- here is the newest linky! We have a new Button! http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/02/16/crafty-showcase-link-up-anything-fun-in-the-craft-project-linky/

  13. Charlene@A Pinch of Joy March 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    The xoxo is a perfect accent! What a great idea — and $0 makes it even better! Thanks so much for linking on busy Monday!

Post a comment

