Homemade Cinnamon Graham Crackers

9 Feb

homemade cinnamon graham crackers

These are one of my favorite snacks to make. I think the reason why I like them is because I loved eating graham crackers growing up but once I found out I had a gluten allergy, it was a tough day, okay..maybe a tough year. But these are delicious!

Ingredients

2 ¼ cups flour
½ cup packed brown sugar
1¾ tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
7 tbsp butter, cut into small pieces
3 tbsp cold water
3 tbsp honey
1 tsp vanilla

Combine the dry ingredients and mix. Next, cut the cold butter into small pieces and using your fingertips, work the butter into the dry ingredients until it is well combined (or you can use a food processor!).

Stir in the cold water, honey and vanilla. If the dough is too dry, add a little more cold water a teaspoon at a time. Continue to combine with your fingers.

Gather the dough into a ball and cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 to 30 minutes. Refrigerating will help make the dough less sticky when rolling it out. You could skip the refrigeration part, you’ll just need more flour when rolling the dough.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Flatten and roll the dough onto the parchment paper to the thickness you desire. You may need to use some flour to keep dough from sticking to the rolling pin or sometimes I lay a zip block bag on top of the dough to help roll it out.

IMG_8422

Use a pizza cutter to cut your dough into squares. Then use a fork to poke holes in the dough. Sprinkle generously with cinnamon and sugar.

IMG_8423

Bake for 25-35 minutes, remember you want a crisp cracker, not a soft cookie, but keep a close on on them so they don’t burn.  If you’re not sure if they are crisp enough, you can always pull them out of the oven, let them cool and see what the texture is like. If their too soft, put them back in the oven for several minutes.

grahams2
Adapted from One Good Thing by Jillee

Mmmm!

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

55 Responses to “Homemade Cinnamon Graham Crackers”

  1. Selene Galindo February 9, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this! My daughter loves graham crackers! I will try this very soon!

  2. Patty Fosler February 9, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    They look like the real deal! I’d like to taste one.

  3. Andrea at Opulent Cottage February 9, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    YUM! Pinning this! I can just imagine the how happy these would make my family! Thanks for a great recipe.

  4. Diana Rambles February 9, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    WOW! These look really yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Ruthie Armstrong February 9, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    Pinned!! These have got to be amazing…. they look wonderful! xoxo~ Ruthie

  6. Steph @ Crafting in the Rain February 9, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    I’ve always been tempted to try homemade graham crackers–these look yummy!

  7. Ajaire February 10, 2013 at 6:57 am #

    I’m excited about trying these! Thanks for the recipe :)

  8. Pamela February 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    They look and sound scrummy, i have bookmarked them to make after Lent.

  9. BinomialBaker February 10, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Thanks for sharing this recipe on Foodie Friends Friday! I’ve made graham crackers before and they are so tasty! Cinnamon Sugar sounds amazing!

  10. Leisa February 10, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    These look so delicious! What kind of four did you use to make them gluten-free?

  11. Rosey February 10, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    They came out great and I bet the kids would like to be in on making (and eating) this one. I’m visiting today from Raising Imperfection. :)

  12. Krista@EverydayMom'sMeals February 10, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    Wow! I had never even thought about making these myself. Yummy! Thanks for sharing at Church Supper. Have a blessed week, Happy Valentine’s Day and come back soon.

  13. Leslie February 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    These look delicious!

    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie
    http://www.violetimperfection.com

  14. Lanaya February 10, 2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Mmmm…Beth these look yummy!! Mail order?? LOL!

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured.

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  15. Simplee Sue February 10, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

    These look good for dipping into a cold glass of milk. I bet they would make yummy smores. Thank you for sharing.

    We may have met by chance…but we become friends by choice.
    http://simpleesue.com/make-one-new-recipe-a-week-french-onion-soup-grilled-cheese-sandwich

  16. Michelle L February 10, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    These sound amazing, Beth!

  17. melissa February 10, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Yum! I’m going to try these with my little guys and girls!

  18. Cheryl@ Sew Can Do February 11, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I totally want to make these! Pinning it to try with the kids (but really mostly for me) – Thanks for linking to the Craftastic Monday party at Sew Can Do!

  19. Chandra@The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen February 11, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    What a great idea! So much healthier than the store bought ones! Thanks for linking at Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s!

  20. Leigh Anne@Yourhomebasedmom.com February 11, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    One of my favorite treats is a graham cracker and cold milk – a homemade graham cracker would make it even that much better. I’d love for you to share it over at Finding the Pretty & Delicious Linky Party which open until Tuesday evening.
    http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/finding-the-pretty-delicious-linky-party-4/

  21. creativejewishmom/sara February 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    This looks amazing! MIssing graham crackers here in Israel, so this is perfect, thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday!

  22. cynthial1956 February 12, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    We love graham crackers in our house! My favorite way to eat them is with peanut butter and bananas! Right out of the box too!
    I am excited to see I can make them at home too! Much better for you and I know they will tastes better too!

    Thank you for linking up to the In and Out of the Kitchen link party! I can’t wait to see what you bring next week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  23. andi winslow February 12, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Very nice photo’s. One of these days I am going to make graham crackers!!! nice post andi

  24. Rebecca February 12, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    These look delicious! I cannot get graham crackers here in the UK so a recipe like this is great! Thanks for sharing!

  25. Michelle @ The Gluten Free Wife February 12, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    oooooo! Graham crackers! It has been quite a while since I had one. Pinning this recipe!!!!! :)

  26. Lauren February 13, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Ooh, how awesome! I’ll have to try this. Thank you for sharing at our Pinteresting Party!

  27. Sarah February 13, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    I would much rather make these than buy them. Thank you so much for sharing…they are on my must-bake list for this weekend!

  28. Six Sisters February 13, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    We love Cinnamon Graham Crackers, but these look so much better than anything at the store! Can’t wait to try them. Thanks for the great recipe! -The Six Sisters

  29. angela February 14, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Hello!
    My kids would go nuts for these! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m following you on Pinterest now :)
    I’m stopping by from Glued to my Craft’s link party.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    ang
    http://jugglingactmama.blogspot.com

  30. Becca February 15, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    Interesting that you can make homemade graham crackers. They look good! :)

  31. cheeriosandlattes1 February 15, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Great recipe! My boys love graham crackers and how fun to make our own! Love this! :) You are a Featured Favorite this week on Cheerios and Lattes! Thanks for sharing this last week, we can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to this week! Have a great weekend!
    Mackenzie :)

  32. Susie February 16, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    Beth these look so DELISH!!! Thank you for submitting this tasty recipe to the Crafty Showcase! xoxo susie @bowdabra

    Ps- here is the newest linky! We have a new Button! http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/02/16/crafty-showcase-link-up-anything-fun-in-the-craft-project-linky/

  33. Karen Hornsten February 17, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    These look delicious! I think i may try them without cinnamon and sugar. I eat graham crackers with butter ……. This being my ‘habit’ since a was a little girl. Graham crackers are my special treat during Lent. All other sweets are skipped. I MUST make these.

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog February 17, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      Haha, that’s unique.. I don’t think I would try butter on my grahams! But thanks for stopping by!

  34. Robin February 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Graham Crackers are a favorite in my house. Thanks for sharing at Fluster’s Creative Muster. Looking forward to seeing what you link up next week.

  35. Betsy @ Romance on a Dime February 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    These looks so yummy!! I’m going to have to try it sometime. Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!!

  36. Nichi - The Mandatory Mooch February 21, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    What fun, Beth!! My kids would love these. Thanks for linking up to Tasty Thursdays!! Nichi

  37. jocieopc February 21, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Thanks so much for sharing last week at the Humble Brag! LOVE THIS and am featuring you tonight on the blog and also pinned it. :)

  38. Sarah February 25, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    These look great! We will be trying them soon!

Post a comment

