Rustic Wedding Series – 2

18 Mar

wedding series 2

If you missed the first post in our Rustic Wedding Series, you can find it here. Today I will be sharing more reception decor ideas! If you have any questions about where I found something please don’t hesitate to leave me a comment and I’ll get back to you!

Rustic Wedding Series – Part 2, More Reception Decor

Suitcase Card Box     
Suitcase Card Box, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding #Cardbox

This is a spin on a regular card box. Both of the suitcases where found at Goodwill. I would stop in about once a week to check and see if they had anything I liked, and eventually I scored these!

We cut a rectangular whole in both of the suitcases, and they were held together with velcro. We secured the lace overlay with hot glue.

IMG_0147

Wood Burned Initials

Wood Burned Initials, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding #Rustic

We used a wood burner to carve our initials into a tree slice. My friend, Katie, had one that I borrowed, but here is something very similar to what I used. The longer you hold the wood burned over one spot, the darker the carving will be. We placed this tree slice next to our guest book.

Wooden Pencils

Wooden Pencils, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding

Oh my gosh, I love these pencils!! Our guests used them to fill out our guest book. Similar ones can be found here, 10 for $6.95!

Guest Favor, Seed Paper

Guest Favor Seed Paper, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding #GuestFavor

To thank our guests for celebrating with us, we cut large sheets of seed paper into 2 or 3 inch squares. Seed paper is 100% recyclable paper that is peppered with flower seeds, so you can plant it and grow flowers! Find seed paper here.

DIY Cupcake Stand

Cupcake Stand, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding #CakeStand

This was one of the best finds..and you’ll never guess what it was originally used for. My family found it at the Nordstroms in the Mall of America. Since they were closing their store, they had to sell everything, including their fixtures.. and this was used to display underwear, ha! I think we got it for around $60. The top 3 tiers are adjustable and made from glass, and we added an additional tier on the bottom made from wood.

Cupcake Toppers

Cupcake Toppers, Rustic Wedding Series - The First Year Blog #Wedding #CakeTopper

These were very simple to make. I traced and cut out the bird from lightweight cardboard, and painted it. Then used a little hot glue to secure them to a toothpick.

All photos were taken by Crystal Rose Photography.

Next in the series, ceremony decor!

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

17 Responses to “Rustic Wedding Series – 2”

  1. Shannah @ Just Us Four March 19, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    So many awesome ideas! I love rustic weddings. They are so on trend right now.

  2. Mom's Living Leaner March 21, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    Love the pencils and thank you seed cards. I will send this to my sister in law who is getting married soon! thanks

  3. Pam - Housewives of Frederick County March 22, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    These are great ideas! My brother is getting married in May. Love the card box idea. Thanks! Pam

  4. jocieopc March 22, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Love those wooden pencils!!!! If i were to get married again (to the same man, of course) I would be very tempted to do a rustic wedding! :)

  5. jamie@[kreyv] March 22, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Cute ideas!

  6. Lanaya March 24, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    The cards suitcase is the best! That is awesome,

    Thank you for linking to Raising Imperfection.
    Please come back Friday to see if you were featured. :)

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  7. Leslie March 24, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Beautiful. All of it. You did amazing!

    Thanks for sharing your favorite post at Raising Imperfection! We feature our favorites on Friday, make sure to come back and check.
    Leslie

  8. Kelly @ View Along the Way March 24, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    Beautiful ideas! Makes me wish I could plan my wedding all over again. :)

  9. Kendra March 27, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    All of your ideas are great, Beth! You should be a wedding planner. Thanks for sharing at Crafty Thursday Obsessions.

  10. thepinjunkie March 29, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    This post has some really cut ideas! Thanks so much for including it in my link party. It’s been featured and I hope you’ll stop by to get and “I was featured” button. http://www.thepinjunkie.com/2013/03/friday-link-party-10.html

Post a comment

