Samoas

28 Feb

Homemade Samoas - The First Year Blog #Samoas

Here they are and just like the real thing!!

The recipe is a little lengthy, but totally worth it! Also, in the mood for Thin Mints instead? Find the recipe here!

Cookie bottom
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt

Topping
3 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
12-oz good-quality caramels
3 tbsp milk
10 oz. dark or semisweet chocolate (chocolate chips are okay)
Plus extra butter to help melt chocolate

This recipe makes one 9 X 13 inch pan of Samoas squares, but I cut it in half and used a 8 X 8 inch pan. This recipe is adapted from Key Ingredient.

Cookie Bottom 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.

In a large bowl, cream together sugar and butter, until fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla extract. Working at a low speed, gradually beat in the flour (I use Cooqi Gluten Free) and salt until mixture is crumbly. The dough does not need to come together. Pour crumbly dough into the pan and press into an even layer. Press well and for several minutes.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until base is set and edges are lightly browned. Let the pan cool completely before adding the caramel coconut topping.

Coconut Caramel Topping 
The original recipe said to wait for the cookie bottom to be done before toasting the coconut in the oven, but I didn’t want to turn my oven off and then on again. So I toasted the coconut while the cookie bottom was baking.

Spread coconut evenly on a parchment-lined baking sheet (preferably one with sides) and toast 10-15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until coconut is golden. Let it cool on the baking sheet. Be careful because there is a fine line between toasted coconut and burnt coconut!

Unwrap the caramels (I used half a bag of the classic Kraft caramels) and place in a large microwave-safe bowl with milk. Cook on high for 3-4 minutes, stopping to stir a few times to help the caramel melt.

When smooth, fold in toasted coconut with a spatula.
Put dollops of the coconut caramel topping all over the cookie base. Using the spatula, spread the topping into an even layer.

Let the topping set until cooled. You could either put it in the refrigerator or wait until the next day to make sure they are set.

When set, cut into squares with a large knife or a pizza cutter.

Chocolate Dipped Bottom
Next, melt the chocolate. I prefer to melt it over a double broiler, but the microwave works too, just be careful not to burn the chocolate so melt over low heat.

Either method you use, add some butter to the chocolate to help it melt and become smooth.

Dip the base of each bar into the chocolate and place on a clean piece of parchment or wax paper.

Transfer all of the remaining chocolate (or melt a bit of additional chocolate) into a piping bag or a ziploc bag with the corner snipped off and drizzle bars with chocolate to finish.

Let chocolate set completely before storing in an airtight container. They can also be stored in the freezer.

Samoas Squares - The First Year Blog #Samoas

Enjoy!!

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

62 Responses to “Samoas”

  1. JESS44903 February 28, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    These make my mouth water! :)

    I would love for your to join my Link Up! :)

    http://www.pluckys-secondthought.com/pluckys-link-up-and-a-giveaway/

  2. Diana Rambles February 28, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    As cookie mom…GS cookies are about to do me in!! We had direct sales this year and I had to guess how many to order. We have too many!! OY!!! This does look yummy!!!!

  3. Shauna {The Best Blog Recipes} February 28, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    Just saw your post on Facebook and had to come over and check out your recipe. These look SO DELICIOUS!!!

  4. Rebecca from Who Needs a Cape? February 28, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    Mmmm my favorite girl scout cookie! Definitely trying these. Saw you over on Foodie Friends Friday link party.

  5. Megan March 1, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    These sound delicious! :)

  6. Nici ~ Posed Perfection March 1, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Samoas are my favorite GS cookie, besides Thin Mints. Thanks for the recipe. Pinned it to make later!

  7. Caroline @ Stumbling Upon Happiness March 1, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    These look great! I have a lot of food allergies and can’t eat the real thing, but I’m looking forward to making these to st my Girl Scout Cookie fix.

  8. cherdimi March 1, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I am starting to collect gluten free recipes and this one looks scrumptious! Pinned – from the PinMe party :-)

  9. MommiFried (@mommifried) March 1, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    My favorite GS cookies! Definitely whipping up a batch of these! :)

  10. Alexis AKA MOM March 1, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    WOW Those look so yummy! Stopping by from Pin Me.

    Alexis from Running Away? I’ll help you pack!

  11. Jenna March 1, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! To read all about it go here: http://www.rainonatinroof.com/2013/03/liebster-blog-award-again.html

    Jenna @ Rain on a Tin Roof

  12. Dawn Nicole (@ByDawnNicole) March 1, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    My favorite girl scout cookie! Totally pinning these to try ASAP! :)

  13. Heather March 1, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    wow – they look amazing! samoas are my favorite GS cookie

  14. atkinsondrive March 2, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    Samoas are my all-time favorite! I would love for you to join the Pinworthy Projects link party! http://www.atkinsondrive.com/pinworthy-projects-link-party-week-9/

  15. lifewelive4 March 2, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    omg. I can’t wait to make these!! I only buy one box per year of these, because they get eaten in a bout 1 day!! Please share this at our little linky party

    http://www.lifewelive4.com/2013/03/love-it-list-it-linky-party.html

    :) Laura from Life We Live 4

  16. Bethany March 2, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    Oh my! I have always wanted to find a samoa recipe! Yum, I am so making these!

  17. Rosey March 3, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    Seriously delicious share. I love those cookies. I’m visiting from Raising Imperfection

  18. Angel March 3, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    Wow all these look great. Im a new follower from the blog hop. Awesome site. Please visit my blog and hopefully you will want to follow back.
    Best
    Angel

  19. Ashley March 3, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Pinned before I even read it; I love Samoas! Following along from Raising Imperfection!

  20. noyomoco March 3, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Mmmmmmmmm! These sound awesome :)

  21. Lanaya March 3, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    You are killing me with all these recipes ~ you don’t have me on this one though. Never been a fan of these ones! But, I’m sure you’ll entice me soon enough with something wonderfully evil and delicious!!

    So happy to have you co-hosting with us today!

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  22. April (@100LBC) March 3, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Sounds better than the “real thing”! I wish I liked to bake. I would certainly put this together!

  23. Ruthie March 3, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    These look delish! I’m so glad you came to share at Super Saturday Show & Tell… come back again next week to party with me again :) xoxo~ Ruthie

  24. April @ Angel's Homestead March 4, 2013 at 5:04 am #

    Love this! I’d like to invite you to link up to Saturday Spotlight @ Angels Homestead.

    http://angelshomestead.com/saturday-spotlight-6/

    Hope to see you there :)

    April

  25. Erin @ Making Memories March 4, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Holy smokes! They look amazing! Totally pinning this. Thanks!

  26. Chandra@The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen March 4, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    I love Samoa’s! Thanks for sharing at Show Me Your Plaid Monday’s!

  27. Leigh Anne@Yourhomebasedmom.com March 4, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    So glad to discover your blog and all your yummy recipes! Thanks for sharing at Finding the Pretty & Delicious Linky Party. Hope you’ll join in again next week!
    Leigh Anne

  28. Tash @ The Velvet Moon Baker March 5, 2013 at 2:12 am #

    These look absolutely mouth watering. I’d love for you to link these up at my link party :D

    http://thevelvetmoonbaker.blogspot.ie/2013/03/sweet-and-savoury-sunday-link-party-1.html

  29. Kristina March 5, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    These look amazing, my mouth is watering! I’d love for you to share this post @ tell me tuedays today! http://mothersniche.com/free-printablelinkparty/

  30. Rita March 5, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

    These are my favorite Girl Scout cookies! I can’t wait to try these.

  31. Natasha Hoover (@Natasha5887) March 5, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    Wow! You are my new hero! Samoas and Thin Mints!!!! I’ve already pinned this to make sure I don’t lose it in cyberspace.

  32. Jenn March 6, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    These look sooo good!
    Jenn
    With Luck

  33. Cynthia L. March 6, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    This is my favorite Girl Scout Cookie! I will have to make some of these for my daughter while she is home on Spring Break!

    Thank you for linking up to the In and Out of the Kitchen link party! I look forward to seeing what you bring to the party next week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  34. Angie - easylivingmom.com March 6, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

    These are awesome! I am featuring them on my link party this week :) Thanks for linking up!

  35. Judy March 7, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    These looks soo yummy. I would like to invite you to Linkin’ with my Ladies Bloghop. I hope to see you there.

    I followed you via Pinterest and liked your FB.

    Judy
    http://www.pursuitoffunctionalhome.com/
    http://www.kusinaniinday.blogspot.com/

  36. Laura March 7, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Hey Beth you will be featured tonight at our Love It & List It party! Thank you so much for linking up with us! I can’t wait to make these cookies for the family coming in to town this week!
    :Laura: http://www.lifewelive4.com

  37. Shauna {The Best Blog Recipes} March 7, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    These look so good! I’ve featured them at this weekends Link Party! Thank you so much for sharing last week at The Weekend re-Treat!

  38. Tash @ The Velvet Moon Baker March 9, 2013 at 3:45 am #

    thanks so much for linking this gorgeous recipe up at the Sweet and Savoury Sunday link party, hope to see you there again tomorrow!

    http://www.thevelvetmoonbaker.blogspot.ie

  39. Christine March 11, 2013 at 5:46 am #

    That sure looks good Beth!!

    Thanks for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer.. From Dream To Reality! Can’t wait to see what you link up tomorrow evening :)

  40. Robin March 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Thank you for linking up at Fluster’s Creative Muster. Hope to see you next week!

    Robin @ Fluster Buster

  41. Susie @Bowdabra March 13, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    I’m making these for my teens!!!

    Thank you so much for linking up in the Crafty Showcase last week! I’m slow at getting to do all my visit this week! We care that you link up and LOVE LOVE LOVE visiting your blog to see what all you are up to!

    have a super week!
    Susie @Bowdabra
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/03/02/crafty-showcase-link-up-anything-fun-in-the-craft-project-linky-3/

  42. BetsyPool March 13, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    mmMm – Thanks for posting this recipe. I’m going to have to give it a try. Pinning this. Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Link Up – Top 3 - March 3, 2013

    […] Samoas bars […]

  2. Link Love Thursday | Easy Living Mom - March 6, 2013

    […]   The First Year Blog: Homemade Samoas […]

  3. Show Off Friday #45 | What-About.co - March 7, 2013

    […] SamoasThis is another amazing recipe! The First Year Blog […]

  4. Weekly linky party blog - March 7, 2013

    […] Holy Girl Scout Cookies!! These are from Beth at The First Year Blog […]

  5. Friday Faves #9 | ya gotta have a hobby... - March 16, 2013

    […] #3: Homemade Samoas from The First Year Blog: […]

  6. The Return of Man Approved Monday « The Man Approved Diet - March 25, 2013

    […] I’d feature them both.  First up is The First Year Blog who shared her home made version of Samoas.  The second one was from Memories by the Mile, sharing Double Pistachio Cake.  Both recipes look […]

Post a comment