Peanut Butter Eggs

26 Mar


Peanut Butter Eggs - The First Year Blog #PeanutButterEggs

Uh oh.. I want to eat one right now!!

Who doesn’t love chocolate and peanut butter? Especially Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs… (drool)! This recipe is a keeper, and will probably be pulled out every Easter.. if not for every celebration, haha.

Ingredients
4 cups powdered sugar
1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
2-3 tbsp milk
3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 tbsp shortening

Directions
Mix together the powdered sugar, peanut butter, and butter. Add the milk one tablespoon at a time until it becomes a nice workable dough.

Form the dough into egg shapes (or ovals will do!), place on a large cookie sheet and put them in the freezer for about an hour.

Place about half the chocolate chips and half the shortening in a microwaveable container.  Microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring in between until completely melted.

Dip each egg in the melted chocolate and place on wax paper until set. I tried 2 different dipping methods – sticking a toothpick in the egg and then digging it, but sometimes the egg would fall off, and I also tried scooping the egg out of the chocolate with a fork.

Once you fill up the pan, put it in the freezer to help set the chocolate.

Several tips: Only take about 5 eggs out of the freezer at a time to dip them. Keeping the eggs cold helps to set the chocolate faster. Microwave chocolate as needed to re-melt. If you want to decorate the eggs with sprinkles, do that right after you dip them.

Everyone will form their eggs a little differently, mine might have been on the smaller side, but I got about 100 eggs from this recipe.

Peanut Butter Eggs - The First Year Blog #PeanutButterEggs
Adapted from The Whimsical Princess

IMG_9312

Surprise! My husband came home to find me making these.

And I made my first homemade apothecary jar from a jelly jar and a candle stick I found at the dollar store!

Apothecary Easter Jar - The First Year Blog

Easter Decor

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

35 Responses to “Peanut Butter Eggs”

  1. Elise @ Paint Chips & Frosting March 26, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Those look delicious! :) Peanut butter and chocolate is always a winning combination!

  2. Cindy Eikenberg March 26, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi Beth, my husband LOVES peanut butter eggs and these sound delicious! Thanks for sharing, am pinning and have a great week!

  3. Heather Carter March 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    Hi Beth! Great job on these little goodies! I found you thru the ‘Clippie Dips Time 4 You’ link party! Now following you via email!

    Have a Sweet Day!
    Heather
    My-Sweet-Mission.com

  4. Laurie @ Simply Creating Home March 27, 2013 at 12:12 am #

    Oh wow! These look so tempting and yummy! I’ll be pinning. Your apothecary jar is darling, too!

  5. noyomoco March 27, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    Yum – my favorite! These sound delicious :)

  6. Beth @ Good to be the Cook March 27, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    YUM YUM YUM!!! I want some now.

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog March 27, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      You should make some, your family won’t be disappointed! Hide these in easter eggs this year :-)

  7. Lanaya March 27, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    How cute that we got a pic of you making your delicious treats. I would love some too … and put more pictures of yourself in your blog! You are adorable!

    ¤´¨)
    ¸.•*´
    (¸¤ Lanaya | xoxo
    http://www.raising-reagan.com

  8. Meredith {A TIPical Day} March 27, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    My recipe for Easter Eggs is pretty similar to this one… I think I am going to have to make them both (and do some taste testing) to see which is yummier. ;) Love that apothecary jar.

  9. Bethany Wright Dearden March 28, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Julia Forshee March 28, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    Oh, My!! I used to wait for Easter and buy out the Reeces Eggs because they had more peanut butter than the normal circles. These look soo amazing. As soon as I am off my strict diet I’ll pack the pounds back on with the help of this recipe :) I know our readers would love to see this, too! Our Weekly All Things Thursday Link Up party is going on now at allthingswithpurpose.com, and we would LOVE for you to join us :) Hope to see you soon!!

  11. now at home mom March 28, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Oh! these look so good! so yummy! peanut butter and chocolate always a great combo! one of my favourites! :-) glad I found your blog through Domestic Superhero’s Thursday link party! :-)

    • Beth @ The First Year Blog March 28, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks for coming over!! I am now following you via wordpress!

      • now at home mom March 30, 2013 at 12:26 am #

        Thank you Beth! :-) I just showed this to my husband and he now wants us to try these! :-)

  12. Cassie March 28, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Who doesn’t love a peanut butter egg?! Those look delicious!
    -Cassie

  13. arzea March 29, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    I need to stop buying these and start making them…however, I really don’t need to, judging from my exceeding waistline, lol. Thanks for sharing at Domestic Superhero Sharing Thursdays!

  14. Jamie H March 29, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    We’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. We love your blog, and we’re always amazed at yummy your pictures look!
    http://coffeewithus3.blogspot.com/2013/03/liebster-award.html

  15. Linda Nortje (@WithABlast) March 30, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    Love the recipe! And the Easter Jar is adorable ;-) Thank you for sharing at ALL MY BLOGGY FRIENDS party !

  16. Sarah 'Terhune' Lemp March 30, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Thank you for joining our All Things Thursday Link-Up this week!! These look super yummy and we’re featuring them in this week’s round-up of favorites All Things Thursday Link-Up {No. 16} Featured Favorites :)

  17. Christine March 31, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    They sure look yummy Amy!!!

    Thanks so much for sharing this at The DIY Dreamer… From Dream To Reality last week! HAPPY EASTER!!

  18. BetsyPool April 1, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    MmM – I SO need to make these. I love the picture of you working on them. :) Thanks for sharing at Romance on a dime!!

Post a comment