Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

30 Mar


Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - The First Year Blog #LemonPoppySeedMuffins

I did it – I baked with sour cream and it wasn’t gross! These little muffins deserve a party! 

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
finely grated zest from 2 lemons
2 large eggs
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 cup sour cream
Poppy Seeds (I only used 1/2 tbsp, but if you don’t mind them getting stuck in your teeth and you like the crunch, use 1 tbsp or more)

Directions
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

Whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl, and reserve until needed.

In a mixing bowl, beat the butter, sugar, and lemon zest, until light and creamy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing thoroughly before adding the next. Stir in 1/3 of the flour mixture until just combined. Stir in the lemon juice, and 1/2 of the sour cream until combined.

Add half of the remaining flour mixture, and stir until combined. Stir in the remaining sour cream. Stir in the rest of the flour mixture, and then the poppy seeds.

Line a muffin tin with paper baking cups or spray with cooking oil. If you are making regular sized muffins, it will be about 12. I made mini muffins and got 36.

Fill each muffin only have way full. Bake about 25-30 minutes for regular muffins, or 12-14 minutes for mini muffins or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - The First Year Blog #LemonPoppySeedMuffins
Adapted from AmericanFood.About.com

And look what I found.. I think I was in 1st or 2nd grade and came up with the idea to turn our watermelon fruit bowl into a bunny for an easter party. I was super proud of it, so that white sign next to it said “This idea came from Beth.” Haha.

scan0010
Sunday is coming, Happy Easter!

beth signature 1

Linking to these parties!

42 Responses to “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins”

  1. now at home mom March 30, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    These muffins look delicious Beth and glad to know you didn’t find baking with sour cream ; “gross” :-) The picture of yourself with the watermelon is so cute! (not a bad idea you had there!)

  2. Rita March 30, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    These look so yummy! Thanks for sharing

  3. Sarah March 31, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    These look delicious! I just pinned them so I can find the recipe again when I want to make these. I think they’d be perfect for a nice brunch. :)
    Sarah

  4. Bethany Wright Dearden April 1, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I love lemon muffins! So fresh!

  5. Danielle April 1, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    These look yummy! love anything lemon!! Thanks for posting! :)

  6. cynthial1956 April 1, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Love the watermelon photo – you were a foodie back then! These muffins sound like something my family would love!

    Thank you for sharing this recipe at the In and Out of the Kitchen link party! I look forward to seeing what you bring next week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  7. lizwaterson April 1, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    I love baking with sour cream!! And I won’t lie I love lemon too! LOL

  8. Jackie April 2, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    I’m visiting from the In and Out party. I would love it if you would share on my site: http://rediscovermom.blogspot.com/2013/04/tried-and-true-recipes-6.html

  9. Aimee - ItsOverflowing April 2, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    These look SO GOOD! Featuring you on Friday! XO, Aimee

  10. Marla April 2, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    These look so yummy! I will have to try them soon! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Diana Rambles April 3, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    YUMMY!!! Thanks for sharing this at my Pin Me Linky Party. I hope you come visit & link again.

  12. Katie April 3, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Yummy! I love anything lemon! Definetly pinning these for later! I would love to have you share these at my link party!
    http://www.madetobeamomma.com/2013/04/homemade-by-you-45-brand-new-site.html

  13. sineamarie April 3, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    Beth, lemon poppy seed muffins are my husband’s favorite. They are not often in the stores where we live. I never thought of baking them myself. Thanks for the recipe! :) Thanks for sharing this link on my Wonderful Wednesday Blog Hop, too. See you next week!
    Sinea from Ducks ‘n a Row

  14. the Painted Apron April 4, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    I love lemon poppy seed cake, so I know these must be fabulous! I like that they are bite size rather than a big cake! Thanks!
    Jenna

  15. domestic bliss squared April 4, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    I pinned this, they look amazing!

  16. carriehurst April 4, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    Ha! That’s funny! I LOVE Lemon Poppyseed anything, and the fact that you baked with sour cream and didn’t think it was gross was so cute! I love baking with sour cream! Thanks for sharing at Pinworthy Projects.

  17. Megin April 4, 2013 at 3:10 pm #

    Yum! These look so good!
    I’m visiting you today from Simply Create. I hope you get a chance to stop by my blog and leave a comment and Link Up, too!
    ~ Megin of VMG206
    Medicine Cabinet Makeover

  18. Laura @ Life We Live 4 April 4, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Hey Miss Beth! Im featuring your lovely muffins tonight at our party! Cant wait to try this recipe too!
    Laura

  19. Crystal & Co. (@CrystalandComp) April 7, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    I am super hungry this morning and these look amazing!

    Thanks for linking up!

  20. Susie @Bowdabra April 7, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by and linking up an awesome project. Stop by again soon!

    Have a great week!

    Susie@Bowdabra
    http://bowdabrablog.com/2013/04/06/crafty-showcase-link-up-anything-fun-in-the-craft-project-linky-8/

  21. Linda Nortje (@WithABlast) April 8, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    Pinned this immediately ! I usually buy Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, but your recipe looks so delicious :-) Thank you for sharing at our ALL MY BLOGGY FRIENDS party !

  22. cynthial1956 April 8, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Just wanted to let you know that your Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins will be featured at the In and Out of the Kitchen link party tonight! Can’t wait to see what you bring this week!

    Cynthia at http://FeedingBig.com

  23. BetsyPool April 9, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    Lemon and poppy seed is a GREAT combination! Thanks for linking up at Romance on a dime!! Pinning this.

  24. Abigail April 10, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    These look so good. I’ve never found a good recipe and have always resorted to the boxed kind. Thanks for sharing!!

    I also have a link party going on, it would be awesome if you could link up.

    Cheers,
    Abbi at Seasons on Sunday

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Linky Party Friday- DIY, recipes, furniture, tutorials - April 4, 2013

    […] Beth from The First Year Blog — who has amazing recipes — made these beauties, I love lemon anything! […]

  2. Creative Recipes - April 5, 2013

    […] Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins :: The First Year Blog […]

  3. Guest Co-Host on "The Scoop" Link Party - April 8, 2013

    […] Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins via “The First Year Blog” […]

Post a comment